Institute Leadership

The Lerner emphasizes translational research that has the potential to improve patient care. Our scientists work closely with Cleveland Clinic physicians to transform groundbreaking discoveries made in the laboratory to the bedside. Our collaborative Research Centers of Excellence bring together scientific and clinical experts to solve problems seen in patients and accelerate discoveries into new treatments and cures.

Leadership

Serpil C. Erzurum, MD
Serpil C. Erzurum, MD
Chair, Lerner Research Institute    
erzurus@ccf.org
Thomas A. Hamilton, PhD
Thomas A. Hamilton, PhD
Vice Chair
Chair, Department of Immunology
Interim Chair, Department of Stem Cell Biology & Regenerative Medicine
hamiltt@ccf.org

Donna M.  Driscoll, PhD
Donna M. Driscoll, PhD
Director, Faculty Center
Staff, Cellular & Molecular Medicine
driscod@ccf.org
Christine Moravec, PhD
Christine Moravec, PhD
Director, Research Education and Training Center
Staff, Molecular Cardiology
moravec@ccf.org    

Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L
Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L
Executive Director, Health and Patient-Focused Research
bhasinc@ccf.org
James D. Ellis, JD, MBA
James D. Ellis, JD, MBA
Executive Director, Strategic Alliances and Technology Development
ellisj@ccf.org

Heather Huston Barkley, MBA
Heather Huston Barkley, MBA
Executive Director of Development
hustonh@ccf.org
Mary Ann Verbic, MT (ASCP) SI
Mary Ann Verbic, MT (ASCP) SI
Executive Director, Exploratory Biomedical Sciences
verbicm@ccf.org
Shannon Barnes, MS
Shannon Barnes, MS
Communications Director
barness3@ccf.org