2017 Chair’s Innovative Research Fund Winners Named

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Chair’s Innovative Research Fund grants.

This competitive, philanthropy-based funding mechanism was created in 2011 to encourage researchers to pursue creative, early stage projects. The program has been remarkably successful, and previous winners have leveraged their support to generate preliminary data and secure large federal grants.

Thirty-seven applications were submitted this year, which were evaluated on scientific merit and concept development. Four winners were selected in two categories:

Translational Research

Neetu Gupta, PhD, Immunology

Improving the Efficacy of Β2 Agonists in Chronic Asthma by Inhibiting Ezrin-Mediated Β2 Adrenergic Receptor Desensitization

Veronique Lefebvre, PhD, Cellular & Molecular Medicine

Modeling and Decoding Global Developmental Delay Due to SOX5 Haploinsufficiency


Concept Development

Sadashiva Karnik, PhD, Molecular Cardiology

Small Molecule Inhibitors of Auto-Antibodies Causing Malignant Hypertension

Karl West, MS, Medical Device Solutions

Patient-Specific Holographic Image Guidance for Minimally Invasive Interventional Procedures


For more information about supporting early-stage research, contact Heather Huston-Barkley, 216.445.1038, hustonh@ccf.org.